National Network of Libraries of Medicine
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Hindi Japanese Korean Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Office of Engagement and Training

The Office of Engagement and Training (OET), located at the National Library of Medicine, oversees the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM). The goal of the NNLM is to advance the progress of medicine and improve public health by providing U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving individual's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.

The NNLM is the core of NLM's outreach program to reduce health disparities and improve health information literacy. Funded by NLM, through cooperative agreements, eight Regional Medical Libraries (RMLs) and five National Offices provide a variety of NNLM outreach services such as, project funding, training, presentations, exhibits, technology support and other types of public programs.

The RMLs are eight institutions that coordinate health sciences information services regionally. The National Offices serve critical, cross-cutting roles across the NNLM covering DOCLINE, training, evaluation, web services, and public health coordination.

One of the roles of OET is to coordinate the Network’s programs through the RMLs and National Offices, and chair the National Network Steering Committee (NNSC). The NNSC comprises OET staff and representatives from each RML and from the National Offices. The NNSC also implements common operational and evaluation processes for programs of the RMLs and national offices. This enables the NNSC and its members to monitor performance differences to identify successful strategies for expansion, and to recommend corrective action when needed.

Staff Directory

Photo Name/Title Email Contact
Cassandra Allen
OET
allen@nlm.nih.gov
Julian Argoti
Program Assistant
julian.argoti@nih.gov
Laura Bartlett
Technical Information Specialist
bartlettl@mail.nih.gov 301-827-5877
Renée Bougard Renee Bougard
Project Scientist
renee.bougard@nih.gov 301-496-4777
Mike Davidson
Librarian
mike.davidson@nih.gov
Mia Diggs
Program Analyst
diggsm@mail.nlm.nih.gov
George Franklin
OET
franklig@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Cynthia Gaines
OET
gainesc@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Dan Gerendasy
OET
dan.gerendasy@nih.gov
aimee gogan headshot Aimee Gogan
Technical Information Specialist
aimee.gogan@nih.gov
Alla Keselman
SIS/OET
keselmana@nih.gov
Franda Liu Franda Liu
Project Scientist
liufra@mail.nlm.nih.gov 301-827-5374
Kate Majewski Katherine Majewski
NLM Staff
majewsk@mail.nlm.nih.gov 301-827-5061
M. Nichelle Midon
Project Scientist
midonmn@mail.nlm.nih.gov
picture of Amanda Wilson, April 20190 Amanda J. Wilson
Chief, Office of Engagement and Training
amanda.wilson@nih.gov 301-496-4777