National Network of Libraries of Medicine
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Hindi Japanese Korean Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish

MLA Specializations Certification Funding

Description of Award

Realizing that professional development is an essential part of a librarian's growth and advancement, the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental Region provides professional development funding to cover the application fee for the Medical Library Association's Consumer Health Information Specialization (CHIS) certificate and Disaster Information Specialization certificate for Network member librarians.

    • Each award covers the fee for one MLA specialization certificate application (up to $75).
    • Funds must be used for the CHIS or Disaster Information Specialization certificate application fee.
    • Priority will be given to first time applicants.

    Note: In order to apply for either certificate, you must have completed a minimum number of CE credits in consumer health information or disaster information in accordance with MLA Specialization requirements. The classes for each certificate are available for free. The Disaster Information Management Research Center offers free disaster information classes. The National Network of Libraries of Medicine offers free consumer health classes.

    • The applicant must be a full-time librarian (in any type of library).
    • The applicant’s institution must be a member of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental Region.
    • Application for the CHIS certificate or disaster information certificate must take place between May 1, 2018 – April 30, 2019.


    Funding Period: 
    Tuesday, May 1, 2018 to Tuesday, April 30, 2019
    Up to $75
    Number of Awards Available: 


    Application Instructions: 
    • The funding application must include a copy of the receipt from the certificate application.
    • Funding applications will be accepted, reviewed, and awarded until funds are no longer available, or until April 30, 2019.

    Additional Information

    Reporting Requirements: 

    Each awardee will be responsible for completing a NNLM Professional Development Award report, and sharing their experience with the MidContinental Region through a newsletter article, presentation, or a way mutually agreed upon with the NNLM MCR.

    Need Assistance: 

    For more information about funding, contact Robyn Woods. We welcome your application!

    Visit the MLA website for more information about CE and application requirements. Membership in MLA is not required to apply for the certifications.

    Professional Development