Skip all navigation and go to page content
NN/LM Home About MAR | Contact MAR | Feedback | Help | Bookmark and Share

Legendary Ig Nobel Awards

The legendary Ig Nobel Prizes were awarded in Boston.  The awards, which are in the 22nd year, “honor achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think.  The prizes are intended to celebrate the unusual, honor the imaginative — and spur people’s interest in science, medicine, and technology.”

Among this year’s awards:  the neuroscience prize went to Craig Bennett, Abigail Baird, Michael Miller, and George Wolford [USA], for demonstrating that brain researchers, by using complicated instruments and simple statistics, can see meaningful brain activity anywhere — even in a dead salmon; the literature prize went to the U.S. government’s General Accountability Office, for issuing “a report about reports about reports that recommends the preparation of a report about the report about reports about reports”; the anatomy prize went to Frans de Waal [The Netherlands and USA] and Jennifer Pokorny [USA] for discovering that chimpanzees can identify other chimpanzees individually from seeing photographs of their rear ends; and the medicine prize went to Emmanuel Ben-Soussan and Michel Antonietti [France] for advising doctors who perform colonoscopies how to minimize the chance that their patients will explode.  The (Alfred) Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2012 is scheduled to be announced on Monday, October 8th.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.