About the GMR

The National Network

The mission of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by 1) providing equal access to biomedical information to all U.S. health professionals; and 2) improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.

The Greater Midwest Region (GMR) is one of eight regions in the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and includes: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. In collaboration with network members, each RML Office administers the program for the region. In addition to planning, promoting, and implementing services within the region, the RML Office coordinates activities with other regions and within the national program and serves as a contact point with other library and information networks or health organizations and professional associations.

Regional Medical Library

The U. S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) awarded The University of Iowa Hardin Library for the Health Sciences to be the Regional Medical Library (RML) office for the Greater Midwest Region from May 2016 to April 2021.

GMR Staff

The staff of the GMR Office coordinates services and projects for the region. The five coordinators also are liaisons to the states in the region providing a point of contact for all in the state. If you have a question about the services of the GMR, ask for your state liaison when you call or email the office.

Network Membership

There are over 1,100 network members in the Greater Midwest Region.

Resource Libraries

Resource Libraries are designated institutions within the Greater Midwest Region whose quality and size of collections or uniqueness of materials add significantly to the region's resources. These libraries play a primary role in regional resource sharing and serve as backup reference resources for smaller libraries in their respective states. They also assist the Regional Medical Library in planning, coordinating and implementing Network programs and by sharing their expertise. A full list of the Resource Libraries can be found on the Resource Libraries page.

Outreach Libraries

Fifteen Resource Libraries are designated as Outreach Libraries in the region. These libraries teach classes on NLM resources, provide document delivery to unaffiliated health professionals, partner with other network members on projects, and exhibit and/or present at community events or meetings of health professionals in their states.

Advisory Groups

Focus Groups

The GMR Office organizes three focus groups to be a partner in the development, assessment, and innovation of health information programming in the region. The membership of the focus groups will represent the diversity of all who work to improve health information access in the Region, including health sciences librarians, health professionals, and representatives of community-based organizations.
These focus groups meet once annually in December as a part of annual planning; all meetings are held via videoconferencing software.
If you would like to nominate yourself or a colleague as a member, please contact the GMR Office at gmr-lib@uiowa.edu.

  • Health Sciences Librarians
    • Abby Thorne, Kentucky
    • Barbara Platts, Michigan
    • Connie Bongiorno, Minnesota
    • Kelly Thormodson, North Dakota
    • Marilia Antunez, Ohio
    • Molly Youngkin, South Dakota
    • Trisha Adamus, Wisconsin
  • Health Professionals
    • Membership in development
  • Community Outreach
    • Membership in development


The GMR Office staff organize workgroups to assist in the implementation of projects and services provided by the GMR. These workgroups, made up of network members, will assist the GMR staff develop products, review proposals, or carry out other activities. GMR workgroups meet as needed and are intended to incorporate network member input into office activities.
These workgroups meet as needed; all meetings are held via videoconferencing software.
If you would like to nominate yourself or a colleague as a member, please contact the GMR Office at gmr-lib@uiowa.edu.

  • Native American Health
    • Bobbi Newman, GMR
    • Merete Christianson,  North Dakota State University, ND
    • Katherine Chew, University of Minnesota, MN
    • Mark Holman, Sitting Bull College Library, ND
    • Michelle May, Oglala Lakota College Academic & Public Library & Archives, SD
    • Dawn Hackman, University of North Dakota, ND
    • Molly Youngkin, Universtiy of South Dakota, SD
    • Heidi Nickisch Duggan, American Dental Association, IL
  • Communications
    • Laura Davison, University of Kentucky, KY
    • Tiffany Tawzer, Health Sciences Library Loyola University Chicago, IL
  • Technology
    • Jennifer Herron, Indiana University, IN
    • Stacey Knight-Davis, Eastern Illinois University, IL
    • Donald Pearson, Mount Carmel Health Sciences Library, OH
    • Travis Schulz, Sanford Health, ND
  • Community Outreach
    • Bobbi Newman, GMR
    • Bette Sydelko, Wright State University, OH
    • Marcia Francis, Univeristy of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences, ND
    • Anna Schnitzer, Univesity of Michigan, MI
    • Katrina Belogorsky, Skokie Public Library, IL

Disaster Health Information Coordinators

  • Illinois: Daneen Richardson, Western Illinois University
  • Iowa: (in process)
  • Indiana:Joan Zivich, Community Hospital
  • Kentucky: Mary Congleton, University of Kentucky
  • Michigan: Barbara Platts, Munson Healthcare
  • Minnesota: Mary Wittenbreer, Regions Hospital, Medical Library
  • North Dakota: Erika Fischer, University of North Dakota
  • Ohio: Mary Pat Harnegie, Cleveland Clinic Alumni Library
  • South Dakota: (in process)
  • Wisconsin: Robert Koehler, Meriter Hospital Park
  • GMR: Jacqueline Leskovec