National Network of Libraries of Medicine
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Hindi Japanese Korean Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Citizen Science in Libraries: Fostering Community Connections on Citizen Science Day and Beyond

Class Details

Presentation Summary:
Citizen science enables people from all walks of life to engage in formal and informal research to advance fields spanning astronomy to zoology. This webinar will provide a general overview of citizen science, highlight recent activities to support libraries as community hubs for citizen science, and showcase free resources available to librarians who want to jump in now by promoting citizen science at libraries leading up to, during, and after Citizen Science Day on April 14.

Date: Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Time: 9-10AM (Pacific and Arizona) | 10-11AM (Mountain) | 11AM-12PM (Central) | 12-1PM (Eastern) | 6-7AM (Hawaii) | 5-6AM (American Samoa) | 2-3AM Thursday (Guam)

Presenter: Darlene Cavalier

Presenter Bio:
Darlene Cavalier is a professor of practice at Arizona State University's School for the Future of Innovation in Society and the Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes. Darlene is the founder of SciStarter, founder of Science Cheerleaders, and cofounder of ECAST: Expert and Citizen Assessment of Science and Technology. She is a founding board member of the Citizen Science Association, a senior advisor at Discover Magazine, a member of the EPA's National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology, and she was recently appointed to the National Academy of Sciences "Designing Citizen Science to Support Science Learning" committee. She is the co-editor of "The Rightful Place of Science: Citizen Science" and the author of "The Science of Cheerleading" (available on iTunes). She resides in Philadelphia, PA with her husband and their four children.

Dan Stanton is an Associate Librarian in the Engagement and Learning Services Department of the Arizona State University Library. Part of the Humanities Division, Dan is an integral part of the Arts + Design + Architecture, and the Engineering + Geography + Sustainability + Sciences Knowledge Teams. Dan has worked at the ASU Library for over 25 years and contributes his expertise in Government Information (US Federal, and Arizona - State and Local), Citizen Science, Innovation in Society, as well as Film, Dance, and Theatre. Dan is currently Curator of Content for the East Africa SolarSPELL.
In addition, Dan is dedicated to improving collegial communication and professional development opportunities for library staff, and has served in several leadership roles with the Arizona Library Association, including President 201-2015, and the Mountain Plains Library Association, including Polymathic Factotum at the 2012 MPLA Leadership Institute.

Presentation Slides

Date: 
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
9:00am - 10:00am
Region/Office: National
Apr 4, 2018
9:00AM - 10:00AM PT
Instructor(s):
Kelli Ham, MLIS, Community Engagement Librarian
Contact:

Are you interested in citizen science? Are you looking for new ways to engage with your community members, and would you like to encourage science discovery with more of your users? If you answered yes to any of the above, then don’t miss this exciting webinar featuring Darlene Cavalier, professor of practice at Arizona State University and the founder of SciStarter, a citizen science database and platform. Darlene will describe several citizen science projects in public libraries in Arizona that are part of an IMLS grant, and she’ll share resources and information to spark ideas for your library.