Network of the National Library of Medicine
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Hindi Japanese Korean Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish

MCR Data Science

Subscribe to MCR Data Science feed
Serving the biomedical information needs of Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Utah, and Wyoming.
Updated: 3 hours 12 min ago

Coming up soon! MCR monthly webinar on Data Literacy Education

Tue, 2020-05-05 18:10
What: Data Literacy: What It Is, Why It’s Important, and How to Bring It into The Classroom

Presenter:
Shannon Sheridan, Data Management Librarian at the University of Wyoming

When: 
May 20, 2020 at  1PM – 2PM (Pacific)| 2PM – 3 PM (Mountain) | 3PM – 4PM (Central) | 4PM – 5PM (Eastern)

Data touches all of our lives, yet it is a vital skills that is often left out of formal education. So how can we make sure students are prepared to deal with the data they inevitably will encounter in their work and lives? This presentation aims to answer that question. The presentation will provide an overview of what data literacy is and explain why it is an important component of students education. We also will discuss how instructors can bring data literacy, in both small and large ways, in to their classroom, and provide some concrete examples.

For more information and to register for this webinar go to the Webinar Session Webpage.

Contact donna.ziegenfuss@utah.edu for additional information.

Hope to see you online!

Categories: Data Science