Skip all navigation and go to page content
NN/LM Home About Us | Contact Us | Feedback |Site Map | Help | Bookmark and Share

¿No Comprende?  Online Health Resources for English Speakers Serving Spanish Speaking Communities

CLASS LINKS

Cultural Competence & Health Literacy

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA): http://www.hrsa.gov/culturalcompetence/

Office of Minority Health (OMH):  http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/templates/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlID=3

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ):  http://www.ahrq.gov/research/cultural.htm

NN/LM SE/A Health Literacy Toolkit:  http://nnlm.gov/sea/outreach/healthlitkit/index.html

American Medical Association Health Literacy Toolkit: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/about-ama/ama-foundation/our-programs/public-health/health-literacy-program/health-literacy-kit.shtml

HRSA Free Online Health Literacy Course:  http://www.hrsa.gov/publichealth/healthliteracy/

HRSA “About Health Literacy”:  http://www.hrsa.gov/publichealth/healthliteracy/healthlitabout.html

Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau:  http://www.census.gov

Spanish Language

SpanishSpanish  Alphabet:  http://www.spanishspanish.com/alfabeto_ipower.html

Spanish Flashcards: http://spanishflashcards.tripod.com

Flashcard Exchange:  http://www.flashcardexchange.com/tag/nnlm

StudySpanish:  http://www.studyspanish.com/freesite.htm

StudySpanish Medical Vocabulary:  http://www.studyspanish.com/travel/medical.htm

Spanish Diacritics ( ‘  ~ )

Spanish Typeit:  http://spanish.typeit.org 

University of Michigan – Diacritics for Mac and PC:  http://www.umich.edu/~langres/diacritics/spanish.html

Lingolex Internet Vocabulary:  http://www.lingolex.com/internet.htm

PolyGlot Medical Spanish Translator:  http://polyglot.topsailmultimedia.com/polyglot.html

Oregon Occupational Safety & Health Division English-Spanish Dictionary PDF:  http://www.orosha.org/pdf/dictionary/english-spanish.pdf

Practicing Spanish Medical Vocabulary:  http://www.practicingspanish.com

123 TeachMe Medical Spanish:  http://www.123teachme.com/learn_spanish/medical-spanish

Babelfish Online Translator: http://babelfish.yahoo.com/

Google Online Translator: http://translate.google.com/?hl=en#en|es|

Evaluation of Online Spanish Health Information

MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/spanish/healthywebsurfing.html

Evaluation Practice Group Activity – Evaluate these Spanish websites. Which seem like good resources and why?:

http://www.redmedica.com.pe/

http://www.tuotromedico.com

http://www.mipediatra.com.mx

http://www.censida.salud.gob.mx

Online Health Resources:

MedlinePlus in Spanish: http://medlineplus.gov/spanish/

PubMed (Use Limits>Language>Spanish):  http://pubmed.gov

ToxTown:  http://toxtown.nlm.nih.gov/espanol/index.php

National Cancer Institute in Spanish:  http://www.cancer.gov/espanol

AIDSinfo in Spanish:  http://www.aidsinfo.nih.gov/infoSIDA/

Aidsinfonet in Spanish:  http://www.aidsinfonet.org/?lang=spa

HealthFinder in Spanish:  http://www.healthfinder.gov/espanol/

FirstGOV in Spanish:  http://www.usa.gov/gobiernousa/Salud-Nutricion-Seguridad/Salud.shtml

CDC in Spanish: http://www.cdc.gov/spanish/

Pam American Health Organization in Spanish: http://new.paho.org/hq/ 

World Health Organization in Spanish:  http://www.who.int/es/

Family Doctor in Spanish:  http://familydoctor.org/online/famdoces/home.html

New York Online Access to Health (NOAH) in English/Spanish:  http://www.noah-health.org/

KidsHealth in Spanish

For parents: http://kidshealth.org/parent/en_espanol/index.html

For teens: http://kidshealth.org/teen/en_espanol/                                         

For kids: http://kidshealth.org/kid/en_espanol/

American Diabetes Association in Spanish: http://www.diabetes.org/espanol/

Diabetes Education Program in Spanish: 
http://ndep.nih.gov/i-have-diabetes/TengoDiabetes.aspx

NN/LM Consumer Health Information in Many Languages:
http://nnlm.gov/outreach/consumer/multi.html

AdCouncil’s Healthy Lifestyles:  http://www.adcouncil.org/default.aspx?id=399

Search/Review Resources for Medical Spanish Apps (for iPhone, iPod, etc)

iTunes:  http://www.apple.com/itunes/

iMedicalApps:  http://www.imedicalapps.com

MacWorld’s App Guide:  http://www.macworld.com/appguide/index.html