Skip all navigation and go to page content
NN/LM Home About MAR | Contact MAR | Feedback |Site Map | Help | Bookmark and Share

Open Forums on Revised Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education

http://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/archives/7818

As the higher education association for librarians, ACRL is committed to developing and maintaining forward thinking standards and guidelines that impact student learning across the campus community. As part of this commitment, the ACRL Board of Directors has appointed a task force that will substantially revise the association’s seminal Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education by June 2014. The revision will underscore the critical need for faculty members and librarians to collaborate to effectively address information literacy education that aligns with disciplinary content. While the exact approach is still under discussion, two new elements will be incorporated: threshold concepts and metaliteracy. These two foundational elements should provide the basis for more sustained collaborations with disciplinary faculty and create more aligned teaching and learning communities at the institutional level.

Join the task force for one of three upcoming online open forums to learn more about the composition of the group, the direction it is taking in revising the standards, and, most importantly, share your input, reactions, and questions. This is your opportunity to influence the future of these important standards and positively impact information literacy instruction on your campus. The forums will be held:

  • Thursday, October 17, 10am Pacific/11am Mountain/noon Central/1pm Eastern
  • Tuesday, October 29, 8am Pacific/9am Mountain/10am Central/11am Eastern
  • Monday, November 4, 10am Pacific/11am Mountain/noon Central/1pm Eastern

There is no charge to participate in an online open forum and each lasts one hour. Sign up is limited to 100 logins for each event, first-come first-served. Sign up now and be part of the community revising this important document! Links to the recorded forums will be posted afterwards on the website.

Because there is limited online meeting room capacity, we encourage you to participate in a group under one registration. Reserve a meeting room and invite colleagues from your library, academic support services, general education curriculum committee members, faculty partners, and other campus stakeholders to participate together. Customize the sample text below to reach out to your campus partners:

Join me in learning about the revised Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education

Many of you are familiar with the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education, first adopted in 2000 by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). These standards – which have defined information literacy for librarians, educators, and assessment agencies – are undergoing extensive revision. A task force is working on a new approach that underscores the critical need for faculty members and librarians to collaborate to effectively address information literacy education that aligns with disciplinary content. While the exact approach is still under discussion, two new elements will be incorporated: threshold concepts and metaliteracy. These two foundational elements should provide the basis for more sustained collaborations with disciplinary faculty and create more aligned teaching and learning communities at the institutional level.

Join me on X date, Y time, Z room location to learn more in an online open forum. The task force co-chairs will talk about the direction the group is taking and ask the broader community to share reactions and questions. This is our opportunity to influence the future of these important standards. It would be helpful to participate together so that we can share our collective thinking and have some discussion, as a group, about possible implications for our campus.

The task force looks forward to sharing the revision process and hearing your thoughts on the new standards.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.